News Flash Home
The original item was published from 9/7/2018 9:24:00 AM to 9/16/2018 12:05:04 AM.

News Flash

City News

Posted on: August 24, 2018

[ARCHIVED] Swearing-In Ceremony of Mayor and City Council Members Sept. 6

090618-ceremony-6633 GROUP

General Sessions Judge Toby Gilley conducted a swear-in ceremony of the newly elected Mayor and Murfreesboro City Council members during a special ceremony, Thursday, Sept. 6.

Who:  Mayor Shane McFarland, Council Member Madelyn Scales Harris, Council Member Rick LaLance and the newest Murfreesboro City Council Member Ronnie Martin were sworn-in.

What:  General Sessions Judge Toby Gilley performed official installation of the oath of office.

When:  Thursday, Sept. 6, 2018 - 6:00 p.m. 

Where:  Murfreesboro City Hall Rotunda

              111 West Vine Street

              Murfreesboro, TN 37133

This election and swearing-in filled all Council seats. In December 2016, the late Vice Mayor Doug Young passed away after a long battle with cancer. At that time, Council decided to leave the seat vacant until the outcome of the August 2, 2018 election when a candidate could fill the seat for a full four-year term. Doing so avoided the need to hold a special election that would have cost an estimated $61,000, according to Rutherford County Election administrator Alan Farley.

The top three votes received in the Council election were: Madelyn Scales Harris, 9,014, Rick LaLance, 7,476 and Ronnie Martin, 7,267. Incumbent Mayor Shane McFarland, who ran unopposed, received 15,671 votes.

For City News online, visit .

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in City News