Go To Search
Click to Home


The Homeless Alliance of Rutherford County (formerly the Murfreesboro/Rutherford County Homeless Task Force), was established in 1999 as the Mayor’s Homeless Task Force when Mayor Richard Reeves brought together a group of organizations and citizens interested in addressing the problem of homelessness in Murfreesboro and Rutherford County. In 2013, with the encouragement of Mayor Tommy Bragg and responding to guidelines set forth in the HEARTH Act and HUD’s Continuum of Care interim rule (24 CFR 578) the task force re-organized itself and changed its name to reflect its position as the lead entity for the Murfreesboro/Rutherford County Continuum of Care.

HARC welcomes all organizations and individuals who want to join in ending homelessness in Murfreesboro and Rutherford County.

HARC adopted by-laws in 2013. The task force has delegated administrative functions to an Executive Committee of 12 members, eight of them elected by the general membership for staggered three-year terms. The annual election is held at the January General Membership Meeting. Additional members are the Mayor of Murfreesboro (or designee), Murfreesboro Housing Authority Executive Director (or designee), the President of Middle Tennessee State University (or designee) and the Chairman of the Consumer Council. Members of the Consumer Council are persons who are homeless or are formerly homeless.

Work of the task force is done by its five working groups:

  • Service Delivery - meets 2nd Wednesday (2 p.m.) in March, June, September, December; two meetings in January to plan and train for the annual Point in Time Count - Greenhouse Ministries
  • Consumer Council - meets:

1st Friday (noon) each month at Greenhouse Ministries

3rd Tuesday (6:30 p.m.) each month at Salvation Army

4th Monday (1 p.m.) each month at The Journey Home

  •  Planning - Meets 2nd Tuesday (10 a.m.) of each month - McFadden Community Center, Meeting Room A
  • Membership and Advocacy - meets 4th Thursday (1 p.m.) in February, May, August, November - St. Thomas Rutherford Hospital, Classroom A
  • Rating and Ranking - meets as needed

Each working group is chaired by a member of the Executive Committee. Active members of the task force are expected to be involved with one or more working group. For more information about meeting places, contact the chairperson. See working groups for more information about the work of each group. View the task force organizational chart.