Go To Search
HomePrintEmail
RSS
OurCityYourGovernmentDepartmentsDoingBusinessHowDoI
Click to Home

Driver Information
Licenses
New residents of the city have 30 days after establishing permanent residency to change their out-of-state drivers license to a valid Tennessee license. If you have a valid license from another state, only a vision test is required. For a first-time license, you must have a certified birth certificate, pass a written test concerning the rules of the road, vision test, and a road test. All applicants must also have verification of their Social Security number. The driver's license testing center is located at:
1035 Samsonite Blvd.
Murfreesboro, TN 37129
Ph:615-898-8037

Hours
Testing center hours of operation are Tuesday through Friday, 7 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.

Tags / Registration
New residents must obtain Tennessee license plates for their cars and trucks within 30 days after establishing residency. To purchase a license plate, a Tennessee title must be obtained. Both may be purchased at the County Clerk's Office. Call ahead at 615-898-7800, to find out what paperwork you will need to get the title and tags. The Rutherford County Clerk is located at:
319 N. Maple St.
Murfreesboro, TN 37130

Emissions Testing
Before renewing your registration, state law requires that you have emissions checked. In Murfreesboro, Envirotest Systems is located at:
1211 Salem Park Court
Murfreesboro, TN 37129

The facility is open Monday and Tuesday, 7 a.m. to 6 p.m., Wednesday through Friday, 7 a.m. to 5 p.m., and closed Saturday and Sunday. The fee is $10 cash. For additional instructions, call 615-399-8995.

Kayaks